Quaint Little French Restaurant, Bursting with Flavor

October 8, 2022

Wormwood - University Heights // San Diego, CA, USA

I don’t know where to start with Wormwood. It’s another restaurant that I find myself wanting to go back to and seeing which willing soul will accompany me to taste test the whole menu. Funny thing is, whenever I go back I always order almost the same exact thing, LOL! Although, I will make it a point to try other things on their menu because I’m pretty sure I’ll be going back a lot in the near future.

Coquilles St. Jaques

This quaint little French restaurant and absinthe bar also has a gorgeous outdoor patio that transports you to the charming French countryside. The touch of intertwined market lights and occasionally a live band adds to the restaurant’s inherent charm. What’s even better? Sitting out in the patio area with a drink… and Wormwood does amazing cocktails. For something light and citrusy I definitely recommend their French 75 and for those looking for a little punch, Lord Byron’s Muse is a nice combination of bourbon and banana.

Confit de Canard

As with most French restaurants, the dishes served here are pretty rich but pack a punch of flavor, so don’t let the smaller portion sizes fool you. Always order the wagyu tartare when you dine at Wormwood and if you think ordering the sourdough with whipped seaweed butter is “too much” or a “waste of stomach space”, you’re wrong - please just get it and thank me later.

Wagyu Tartare

Wormwood’s menu is also seasonal, so again, some of the items I mentioned might not be available year around… but a good excuse to go there at least four times in the year so you can see if there is anything special about each season. Here is my all-star team menu for Wormwood:

  • Fruits de Mer
  • Pain a l’ancienne
  • Wagyu Tartare
  • Confit de Canard
  • Coquilles St. Jaques
  • Warm Crinkle Cake (red pistachios, kumquat, saffron, malted milk ice cream)